awards page 121
Gambling site Betfair, ticket exchange Seatwave and shopping destination Net-A-Porter, have all won big at the Media Momentum Awards and gone on to become impressive players in the digital space.

Now the Oscars of the digital media world are calling for entries to find the next game-changing websites of 2010.The awards are organised by GP Bullhound, an investment bank which specialises in technology and digital media and were launched six years ago to try and promote digital media as a sector by finding its brightest stars.

Manish Madhvani, partner at GP Bullhound and Media Momentum judge, said: “For us as a specialist investment back, it’s about continuing to raise digital media companies’ profiles, while giving us unique intelligence into which areas of the sector we should be investing in.

“It’s also an amazing event as it brings together the best digital media companies in Europe into one room – providing a brilliant opportunity for networking.”

There are seven categories of award: fastest growing company, fastest growing larger company, best management award, best execution award, uniqueness of offering, vision and future growth potential award and the judges award.

Seatwave’s founder, Joe Cohen, who picked up both the fastest growing company award and best management award last year, has found the event to be of immeasurable help in propelling his company into the limelight.

“The Media Momentum Awards really put us on the centre stage of leading technology companies in Europe. It brought us to the attention of the leading venture capital funds and to the mass media. Up until we won those awards, we were just another new digital media company. The whole experience really elevated us to a new level.”

The 2010 judging panel is made up of senior digital executives including Martha Lane Fox – the chief executive and founder of Lucy Voice, Kristian Segerstrale – the chief executive and founder of Playfish and Seb Bishop – the chief executive of Red.

The deadline for entries is March 1 2010. All companies must have generated revenues worth at least 1.3 million in the last financial year (2009) and have their headquarters based in Europe.

The Media Momentum Awards will be handed out on May 12.